WASHINGTON STATE Invoice of

OFFICE OF PUBLIC DEFENSE Court Reporter or Typist—
Appellate Program Indigent Case
Invoice Date:
Claimant Information (Check is to be payable to) FORIORO \
Name:
Business:
Address:
City: State: WA Zip:
Phone: SWV No: j
Email Address: Select One:  Court Reporter I__
Transcripuonise ||
Case Name: COA No.:
Trial Court No: Co-defendant COA No:
County: Service Requested By:

Payment Information
Voir Dire or Opening Statements? E Yes |: No Dates: per siatement of

arrangements, except as follows:

Copy of Verbatim Report Sent to Attorney? !_ Yes |_ No
Searchable .pdf or E-file? .pdf [ | E-file

Served and filed notice on all Parties? Yes I: No

* A statement of arrangements (SOA) must accompany the OPD invoice and the dates listed on the SOA must match those listed on the
invoice. OPD requires an amended SOA if the dates transcribed do not match the original SOA.

Verbatim Report of Proceedings

[ ]

Number Amount Total

Original Report and | copy** @$3.65 per page $0.00
Searchable .pdf CD @$2.75 per CD $0.00
Additional Copies @$0.25 per page $0.00
Postage to Court of Appeals (attach receipt) $0.00

List the reason for additional copies:
**Bill $3.65 per page for each original page, if SOA filed July 1, 2019 or later. One copy is

included in this amount. Additional copies are paid at $0.25 per page and must be validly T t I R $ O . OO
authorized; contact OPD if unsure whether copies are authorized. (RAP 15.4(d)(1)). otal :

Court Reporter

I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of
Washington that the foregoing is true and correct:

Return form to:

OPD Fiscal Department Signature
Washington State Office of Public Defense

P.O. Box 40957

Olympia, WA 98504-0957 Date
Questions: FOR OPD USE ONLY
Email- cr-invoices@opd.wa.gov Approval

By: I
Date: I

7/1/19



mailto:cr-invoices@opd.wa.gov

OPD Appellate Court Reporter/Transcriptionist
Invoice Instructions

Where to File

Transcripts are filed directly with the Court of Appeals, not with
superior court. Either file a searchable .pdf electronically and
forward a hard copy to the Court within |5 days, or file a hard copy
with CDs containing searchable .pdf copies. Note: Paper copies
may be waived in Division lll, see General Order of September
23, 2015.

E-file Confirmation
If filing electronically, attach the Court of Appeals e-file confirmation
page to your invoice.

Statement of Arrangements

All invoices must include a Statement of Arrangements (SOA)
ordering the transcribed hearings. If dates on the original SOA are
incorrect, request an amended SOA from the attorney before
transcribing. Any dates transcribed that do not match the included
SOA or amended SOA will slow or possibly prevent payment.

Order of Indigency

As of September |, 2017, orders of indigency do not need to be
included with OPD court reporter invoices. However, you should
not transcribe any hearings without first obtaining an Order of
Indigency from the attorney (also known as an “In Forma Pauperis”
order in some jurisdictions). Do not rely on anyone’s representation
that OPD will pay unless it is confirmed by a signed Superior Court
Order of Indigency. A Statement of Arrangements is NOT an Order
of Indigency. If there is no valid Order of Indigency on a case, OPD
will not be able to pay you. If unsure whether an Order of Indigency
is sufficient to authorize payment, contact
gideon.newmark@opd.wa.gov.

Claimant Information Section

Fill out the claimant information section as directed. A Statewide
Vendor (SWV) number is required for payment. If you do not have
an SWYV number, apply for one at: https://ofm.wa.govl/it-
systems/statewide-vendorpayee-services

Case Information Section

Fill out case information as directed. A Court of Appeals (COA)
case number is required and must match the number on the SOA.
“Service Requested By” should reflect the attorney that filed the
SOA, not the superior court judge who signed the Order of
Indigency.

Payment Information Section

Voir Dire or Opening Statements?

Indicate whether transcription includes voir dire or opening
statements. Failure to check an option will slow payment. Do not
transcribe either section unless explicitly asked to do so in
the SOA.

Copy of Verbatim Report Sent to Attorney?

Indicate whether a copy has been sent to the attorney filing the
SOA. Failure to check either box will slow payment. Failure to send
attorney copies in a timely manner can delay payment and result in
sanctions by the Court of Appeals.

Searchable .pdf or E-file?

Indicate whether the original transcripts have been e-filed with the
Court of Appeals or filed in hard copy with included CDs containing
searchable .pdf files. As of September I, 2015, ASCII format is no
longer acceptable, searchable .pdf is required.

Dates

If dates transcribed match exactly with the included SOA (and any
amended SOA:s, if applicable), leave blank. This certifies that all dates
ordered on the SOA were transcribed. If dates transcribed differ
from the SOA, use the space provided to briefly indicate how and
why. Dates failing to match the SOA may prevent or delay payment.

Verbatim Report of Proceedings Section

Original Report and | Copy

As of July 1, 2019 for any proceedings that have not been previously
transcribed, bill $3.65 per page for each original page. This includes
pages mandated by RAP 9.2, such as title pages and tables of
contents. It does not include certification pages, such as that
required by GR 35.

One copy is included in the $3.65 per page rate. Bill only once for
each original page; do not bill for the included copy. Send the
included copy to the attorney who filed the SOA.

Searchable .pdf CD
CDs are required only if filing the original in hard copy. If e-filing
with the Court of Appeals, do not include CDs.

Additional Copies

Bill $0.25 per page for copies if the SOA orders any proceedings
that have already been transcribed for another case or client. Bill for
each copy page provided; thus, if providing one already-transcribed
copy to the Court of Appeals and one copy to the attorney, bill for
two copies. List the reason for copies being provided, such as “copy
for other appellant” or “previously transcribed pages.”

Example: Multiple attorneys representing different clients on the
same case order the same 100 pages of transcript. Bill $3.10 per
page for 100 pages. Send the original to the Court of Appeals. Send
the included copy to one attorney. Bill for 100 additional pages at
$0.25 per page and send that copy to the other attorney. List “copy
for other client” as the reason for providing copies.

Except when there are previously transcribed pages or multiple
clients, copies are generally not authorized. For instance, OPD will
not pay for copies provided to trial counsel or provided directly to
the client (unless the client is pro se). Contact
gideon.newmark@opd.wa.gov if unsure.

Postage to Court of Appeals

Even if e-filing, a paper transcript must be filed within 15 days of e-
filing (exception: Division Ill transcripts under 500 pages that comply
with General Order of 9/23/15). OPD will reimburse for postage for
paper copies sent to the Court of Appeals. For transcripts under 13
ounces, use USPS First Class large envelope shipping.
Reimbursement greater than First Class price will be marked down
to First Class. For heavier transcripts, USPS Priority Mail (by weight,
not flat rate) is preferred. Do not use Priority Mail Express or other
express shipping. You must include the shipping receipt to be
reimbursed for postage.

Signature Block
Sign and date; unsigned invoices will not be paid.
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