
 

WASHINGTON STATE 

OFFICE OF PUBLIC DEFENSE 
          Appellate Program 

Invoice of 

Court Reporter or Typist— 

Indigent Case 

 

2-11-16 

 

Invoice Date:    

 Claimant Information (Check is to be payable to)  

Name:    

Business:   

Address:   

City:  State:  Zip :   

Phone:  SWV No:   

Email Address:  Select One: Court Reporter   

 
Transcriptionist 

  
      Case Information 

Case Name:  COA No.:  

Trial Court No:  Co-defendant COA No:  

County:  Service Requested By:  
 

      Payment Information 

Voir Dire or Opening Statements?  Yes  No Dates: per statement of 

arrangements, except as follows: If yes, please attach Order of Indigency covering this expense.   
Copy of Verbatim Report Sent to Attorney?  Yes  No  

Searchable .pdf or E-file?  .pdf  E-file  

Served and filed notice on all Parties?  Yes  No  
* A statement of arrangements (SOA) must accompany the OPD invoice and the dates listed on the SOA must match those listed on the 
invoice.  OPD requires an amended SOA if the dates transcribed do not match the original SOA. 

   Verbatim Report of Proceedings 

  Number Amount Total 

 Original Report and 1 copy**  @$3.10 per page   

 Searchable .pdf CD  @$2.75 per CD   
Additional Copies  @$0.25 per page   

Postage to Court of Appeals   (attach receipt)   

List the reason for additional copies:  
**Bill $3.10 per page for each original page.  One copy is included in this amount.  
Additional copies are paid at $0.25 per page and must be validly authorized; contact 
OPD if unsure whether copies are authorized.  (RAP 15.4(d)(1)). Total Amount Due:  

 Court Reporter 
 I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of 

Washington that the foregoing is true and correct: 
    

    Signature  

      
    Date  

    
     

Return form to:  
OPD Fiscal Department 

Washington State Office of Public Defense 

P.O. Box 40957 

Olympia, WA  98504-0957 

         Questions: 

         Email- cr-invoices@opd.wa.gov 

FOR OPD USE ONLY 

FOR OPD USE ONLY 

Approval 

By:  

Date:  

mailto:cr-invoices@opd.wa.gov


 

 

 

OPD Appellate Court Reporter/Transcriptionist 

Invoice Instructions 
 

Where to File 

As of September 1, 2015, transcripts are filed directly with the 

Court of Appeals, not with superior court. Either file a searchable 

.pdf electronically and forward a hard copy to the Court within 15 

days, or file a hard copy with CDs containing searchable .pdf copies. 

Note: Paper copies may be waived in Division III, see General 

Order of September 23, 2015. 

 
E-file Confirmation 

If filing electronically, attach the Court of Appeals e-file confirmation 

page to your invoice. 

 

Statement of Arrangements 

All invoices must include a Statement of Arrangements (SOA) 

ordering the transcribed hearings. If dates on the original SOA are 

incorrect, request an amended SOA from the attorney before 

transcribing. Any dates transcribed that do not match the included 

SOA or amended SOA will slow or possibly prevent payment. 

 

Order of Indigency 

If transcribing jury voir dire (also called jury selection) or opening 

statements, include an Order of Indigency (also called an In Forma 

Pauperis order) authorizing those sections. A Statement of 

Arrangements ordering those sections is not sufficient. An 

Order of Indigency will be considered sufficient if it explicitly 

authorizes transcription of voir dire or opening statements, or if its 

authorization is broad enough to include those sections. For 

instance, authorizing “all trial proceedings” or “all proceedings to be 

determined by appellate counsel” is sufficient. An order explicitly 

authorizing voir dire or opening statements, but not both, is 

sufficient only for the section explicitly ordered. Do not 

transcribe voir dire or opening statements without first 

obtaining an order of indigency. Failure to do so will slow or 

prevent payment. If unsure whether an order of indigency 

authorizes voir dire or opening statements, contact 

gideon.newmark@opd.wa.gov. 

 

Claimant Information Section 

Fill out the claimant information section as directed. A Statewide 

Vendor (SWV) number is required for payment. If you do not have 

an SWV number, apply for one at: 

http://www.des.wa.gov/services/ContractingPurchasing/Business/Ven

dorPay/Pages/default.aspx 

 

Case Information Section 

Fill out case information as directed. A Court of Appeals (COA) 

case number is required and must match the number on the SOA. 

“Service Requested By” should reflect the attorney that filed the 
SOA.  

 

Payment Information Section 

 

Voir Dire or Opening Statements? 

Indicate whether transcription includes voir dire or opening 

statements. Failure to check an option will slow payment. Attach 

order of indigency if providing voir dire or opening statements (see 

above). 

 

Copy of Verbatim Report Sent to Attorney? 

Indicate whether a copy has been sent to the attorney filing the 

SOA. Failure to check either box will slow payment. Failure to send 

attorney copies in a timely manner can delay payment and result in 

sanctions by the Court of Appeals. 

 

 

Searchable .pdf or E-file? 

Indicate whether the original transcripts have been e-filed with the 

Court of Appeals or filed in hard copy with included CDs containing 

searchable .pdf files. As of September 1, 2015, ASCII format is no 

longer acceptable, searchable .pdf is required.  

 

Dates 

If dates transcribed match exactly with the included SOA (and any 

amended SOAs, if applicable), leave blank. This certifies that all dates 

ordered on the SOA were transcribed. If dates transcribed differ 

from the SOA, use the space provided to briefly indicate how and 

why. Dates failing to match the SOA may prevent or delay payment. 

 

Verbatim Report of Proceedings Section 

 

Original Report and 1 Copy 

For any proceedings that have not been previously transcribed, bill 

$3.10 per page for each original page. This includes pages mandated 
by RAP 9.2, such as title pages and tables of contents. It does not 

include certification pages, such as that required by GR 35. 

 

One copy is included in the $3.10 per page rate. Bill only once for 

each original page; do not bill for the included copy. Send the 

included copy to the attorney that filed the SOA. 

 

Searchable .pdf CD 

CDs are required only if filing the original in hard copy. If e-filing 

with the Court of Appeals, do not include CDs. 

 

Additional Copies 

Bill $0.25 per page for copies if the SOA orders any proceedings 

that have already been transcribed for another case or client. Bill for 

each copy page provided; thus, if providing one copy to the Court of 

Appeals and one copy to the attorney, bill for two copies. List the 

reason for copies being provided, such as “copy for other appellant” 

or “previously transcribed pages.” 

 

Example: Multiple attorneys representing different clients on the 

same case order the same 100 pages of transcript. Bill $3.10 per 

page for 100 pages. Send the original to the Court of Appeals. Send 

the included copy to one attorney. Bill for 100 additional pages at 

$0.25 per page and send that copy to the other attorney. List “copy 

for other client” as the reason for providing copies. 

 

Except when there are previously transcribed pages or multiple 

clients, copies are generally not authorized. For instance, OPD will 

not pay for copies provided to trial counsel or provided directly to 

the client (unless the client is pro se). Contact 

gideon.newmark@opd.wa.gov if unsure. 

 

Postage to Court of Appeals 

As of September 1, 2015, transcripts will no longer be filed with 

superior court. Instead, they are filed directly with the Court of 

Appeals. Even if e-filing, a paper transcript must be filed within 15 

days of e-filing. If you are mailing hard copies, OPD will reimburse 

for postage. Please ship using the most efficient method. Do not use 

high cost shipping companies or rush delivery service. If shipping 

costs are abnormally high, OPD may deny payment of the difference 
between actual shipping cost and the cost to ship using a more 

efficient service. You must include the shipping receipt to be 

reimbursed for postage. 

 

Signature Block 

Sign and date; unsigned invoices will not be paid. 

mailto:gideon.newmark@opd.wa.gov
http://www.des.wa.gov/services/ContractingPurchasing/Business/VendorPay/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.des.wa.gov/services/ContractingPurchasing/Business/VendorPay/Pages/default.aspx
mailto:gideon.newmark@opd.wa.gov
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