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Private Representation Costs - Misdemeanors 
 

For the purpose of determining whether someone has a right to public defense counsel, the 
Washington statute defines “indigent” to include: “ … a person who at any stage of a court 
proceeding is: …(d)  Unable to pay the anticipated cost of counsel for the matter before the 
court because his or her available funds are insufficient to pay any amount for the retention of 
counsel.” RCW 10.101.010(3)(d). 
 
Consistent with its duty to periodically report on the criteria for determining indigency, the 
Washington State Office of Public Defense (OPD) provides this overview of typical private 
attorney fees to assist trial courts in determining whether a particular defendant is “unable to 
pay the anticipated costs of counsel,” as provided in statute. 
 

In Spring 2015 OPD conducted an online survey of private criminal defense attorneys statewide, 
to determine the average cost of private representation in various case types. The survey 
specifically asked for attorney costs, and did not include additional expenses for investigators, 
experts, or other professional services. Below are the survey results for misdemeanors:  
 

Case Type Average Attorney Fee 

DUIs  $5,100 
Domestic Violence Cases $5,000 

Other Misdemeanors and Gross 
Misdemeanors 

$3,600 

Probation Violation Hearings $1,000 

RALJ Appeals $5,000 
 

 

The survey also asked attorneys to identify how much advance payment is required prior to 
representing criminal defense clients. All responding attorneys answered that at least some 
pre-payment is required. More than 78% of respondents indicated that at least 50% of the 
attorney fee must be paid in advance. 


